AN UPDATE

Hey, everyone! It’s been a while since I posted any real updates on my condition. Way back, I started blogging about my journey through the bleed and subsequent stroke. If you’ve followed me since the beginning, you know that I had to overcome a lot to get to where I am now.

Here is a brief refresher for those who are recent followers and don’t know much about my history. On November 20, 2011, I suffered a subarachnoid hemorrhage secondary to a ruptured aneurysm in my brain. I had brain surgery on the 22nd and suffered an ischemic stroke during the surgery.

While in Neuro ICU, I suffered seizures, TTP, and had to be intubated several times. The left side of my body was dead weight for nearly a month, I had to relearn how to speak, and spent almost another month at inpatient rehabilitation at Good Shepherd in Allentown, PA.

By the time I left Good Shepherd, I was walking with a walker. In May 2012, I graduated to a cane. Less than a year later, I was walking on my own (except during bad weather, which I still do).

My speech is near normal, except when I’m overwhelmed or stressed, in which case I tend to stutter. Loud, unexpected noises tend to send me into a bit of a frenzy until I calm down. I recently sang for the first time at a karaoke gig my friend Vivian K-jayed for. The link is on one of my Celebrate the Small Things posts.

I suffered a few seizures since the bleed, but as of last summer, I was cleared to drive again by my neurologist. Finding the courage to do so again is the hard part.

I’ve had two hospitalizations since then, the most recent this past March, secondary to a fall at home. I bought three weeks in the hospital. My medications since 2011 have been cut by nearly half, including the seizure meds. My biggest hurdles to overcome now are the depression and anxiety.

Overall, I’ve come a long way in my recovery. Next on my agenda is to seek permission from my doctors to work a simple part-time job until I can handle more.

 

 

 

About My Miracle Life

I'm a writer, blogger, avid reader, book reviewer, sub-arachnoid hemorrhage and stroke survivor, moving forward in my recovery and trying to advocate for stroke and brain hemorrhage awareness and prevention. I'm also slowly working towards independence, driving, my first novel, a memoir and a series of short stories. I've been lucky to have a very small network of close friends to guide me; I've been even luckier to have found an online 'family' of sorts to help me through the rough times.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to AN UPDATE

  1. deanie2013 says:

    You’are doing great Eva. So happy you’ve come so far.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You have come a long way! Hope you can start on a part time job. And can continue to cut the meds.
    I think your new living situation is also playing a big part in your recovery.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t realize how much until I took a long look back. As for the part time job, from your lips to God’s ears. 🙂 Being here has definitely been a plus. Love ya, Twinny. Hugs.

      Like

  3. I’m in awe of you, girl. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. emaginette says:

    It’s hard to be reminded we are only human. Rejoice your success no matter how small. They are all yours and prove the fight isn’t over yet. So proud of you.

    Anna from elements of emaginette

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congrats on the ongoing recovery. It’s amazing that you are considering a job after all that.

    Like

  6. Such a journey! You’re an inspiration. I know how hard it can be to keep the chin up when you’re a shut in, but I’m cheering you!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.