IWSG – A MONTH OF CHANGES

Hello bloggers. It is the first Wednesday of the month and we know what that means, right? Time for the Insecure Writers Support Group – #IWSG.

NinjaInsecure Writers Support Group Badge Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh , my hero and one of my mentors, founded this amazing and wonderful group.

The group’s purpose is to allow writers to share their doubts and fears, trials and tribulations without fear of being mocked or feeling foolish. It’s also a place where writers who have “been there” can offer wisdom and guidance.

Whenever anyone finishes a draft, edits their work, finds the perfect critique group, publishes their work, or has any other good news to share, this is the place to do it too!

he awesome co-hosts for the August 3 posting of the IWSG are Tamara Narayan, Tonja Drecker, Ellen @ The Cynical Sailor, Lauren @ Pensuasion, Stephen Tremp, and Julie Flanders!

Please take a moment to thank them for all their hard work this month. 🙂

The past month has been both good and bad. I’ve spent most of it in NJ with my daughter and son-in-law due to the heat wave that was going on in my area. Since I don’t have A/C at home, it was the best option. While I was there, I ran out of my Paxil. When I had a few pills left, I spread out the days I took them, opting to see how I felt with just the Duloxetine (Cymbalta) in my system (prescribed for my neuropathy, but also used for depression). I had some withdrawal symptoms, but nothing crazy. I slept a lot, and had some periods of nausea and diarrhea. Other than that, I seemed to be OK.

When I was hospitalized, my neurologist had to discontinue my Topiramate because of the kidney stones I had. They helped prevent my migraines. Since I was on Paxil, there really wasn’t anything else to give me. Now that I’m off Paxil, my psychiatrist can prescribe another medication that will work for both my depression and migraines. Unfortunately, the name escapes me now. I know it’s too soon to tell if being without the Paxil and just the Duloxetine will work, but if it does, then I might just need something for migraine prevention only. Good stuff.

Overall, I had a good time in NJ seeing my family, and another change I made was getting my hair cut and buying some new clothes. Hopefully I’ll have something BIG to report in my next post, but I’m not counting my chickens yet. Stay tuned.

Have you made any changes in your life recently, big or small?

Check out my other blog’s IWSG post this month too at lilicasplace.

 

 

 

 

 

About My Miracle Life

I'm a writer, blogger, avid reader, book reviewer, sub-arachnoid hemorrhage and stroke survivor, moving forward in my recovery and trying to advocate for stroke and brain hemorrhage awareness and prevention. I'm also slowly working towards independence, driving, my first novel, a memoir and a series of short stories. I've been lucky to have a very small network of close friends to guide me; I've been even luckier to have found an online 'family' of sorts to help me through the rough times.
This entry was posted in IWSG and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to IWSG – A MONTH OF CHANGES

  1. Eva! I hope they find the right cocktail of drugs for you. Can’t believe you don’t have air conditioning. That seems barbaric.

    Like

    • I know, right? I’ll pick up a unit soon. My last cottage was cool even in the summer; I guess because it was shaded by trees. No such luck here. From your lips to God’s ears on the meds Twinny. Hugs.

      Like

  2. Sounds like you had a good visit. It’s been really hot up here, too. I don’t have AC either, but my basement is cool which helps. I hope your medications get sorted out. Less is always better if it works. Looking forward to your big news!

    Like

  3. Jo Wake says:

    I too hope you can find a good mix of pills. Never heard of the ones you mentioned, don’t think I want to get familiar with them either. Glad you enjoyed your trip but haven’t heard much from you lately. We miss you. And yes, I couldn’t live without my A/C so don’t know how you can.

    Like

  4. ahtdoucette says:

    Eva,
    Sounds like a rough month. Hope things turn around and sorted out. Stay cool. This heat can be dangerous.
    Anne

    Like

  5. Finding the right mix of meds can be everything. Good luck!
    No A/C? Gah! I don’t blame you for leaving.

    Like

  6. Hi, Eva! I hope you enjoy your new clothes and haircut! The heat is killer here in Texas! Stay cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Migraines? Kidney stones? Unfortunately, I know what those are like. I hope you find relief. And hurrah for air conditioning. Ours broke, but luckily we got it back before a long stretch of 90 degrees plus weather.

    Like

  8. lexacain says:

    The heat here has me hiding inside in the air-conditioning too. I’m glad you weaned yourself off one med and can try different ones now. I hope you find a med that helps both migraine and depression without any side effects. Yay for enjoying time with your family and for the new clothes and hairstyle! Can’t wait for your big news. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.