IWSG – NEW YEAR BLUES

Happy New Year fellow bloggers. I know some of you were worried about my blogging absence and I apologize for that. The past two months have been rough, but I’m back.

Today is the first Wednesday of the month and it’s time for the Insecure Writers Support Group – #IWSG. Yay!! I was beside myself when I missed last month; that’s how you know things were bad. I hardly EVER miss a post!

Click on the Image to Join

Click on the Image to Join

Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh , my hero and one of my mentors, founded this amazing and wonderful group.

The group’s purpose is to allow writers to share their doubts and fears without fear of being mocked or feeling foolish. It’s also a place where writers who have “been there” can offer wisdom and guidance.

 

The awesome co-hosts for the January 6 posting of the IWSG will be L.G. Keltner, Denise Covey, Sheri Larsen, J.Q. Rose, Chemist Ken, and Michelle Wallace!

Make sure you pay them a visit and thank them for all their hard work!

So the new year hasn’t started the way I had hoped it would. December was a rough and tumble month for me. I bought myself an ER visit because the auras have come back with my migraines; that was scary. My neurologist now has me on an aspirin a day regimen for added stroke prevention. My closest male friend Luis lost his dad about three weeks ago, and my son-in-law’s stepfather passed away on January 3 at age 52.

The ER visit was enough to put me in a really bad state of depression. I spent a lot of time thinking about my own mortality and the things I haven’t accomplished, but still want to. The added losses just made it worse, I think.

I’ve been doing a lot of praying for guidance and strength. I haven’t even updated with my Fellowship recently, except to let my twinny know that I’m alive and ok. I have to make up for that.

I spent New Year’s Eve with Luis, which was a blessing because we both understand each others pain and can talk openly and honestly about things. We’re both confident that this year will be brighter than last.

How were your holidays and New Years? Are you overcoming any hardships? If so, how are you dealing? I’d really, really like to know. What are your plans for the New Year?

Check out my other blog’s IWSG post this month too at lilicasplace.

 

 

 

 

 

About My Miracle Life

I'm a writer, blogger, avid reader, book reviewer, sub-arachnoid hemorrhage and stroke survivor, moving forward in my recovery and trying to advocate for stroke and brain hemorrhage awareness and prevention. I'm also slowly working towards independence, driving, my first novel, a memoir and a series of short stories. I've been lucky to have a very small network of close friends to guide me; I've been even luckier to have found an online 'family' of sorts to help me through the rough times.
This entry was posted in IWSG and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to IWSG – NEW YEAR BLUES

  1. M.R.R. says:

    Hope this month turns out better than the last.

    Like

    • Thank you. I checked your site earlier but didn’t see your IWSG post up yet. I’ll check again in a few. I’ve missed you. Hugs.

      Like

    • Martha says:

      Hi Eva…my depression kicked in hard in November and December and I think it’s normal this time of year, as grieving and the sense of loneliness intensifies or is triggered. I don’t know about you but when the end of the year kicks in my brain goes on over mode and the reflecting never stops and it didn’t help any that there were three deaths in chiquis family…new year new us…we get to start again…hopefully 2016 will be a much better year as far as health is concerned…❤U

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know exactly what you mean. I worry about you, too. I haven’t seen you in a long time, and with the health scare I had last month, I’d like to see you soon. I’m determined to be healthier come this year, and I intend to remain on this side of the grass – unless God has other plans. That, I have no control over.

        I’m working hard to kick this depression’s *ss, but it might take a while. Love you too, Nena. Bronx foreva! 🙂

        Like

  2. salarsen says:

    I’m sorry you had such a rough go of it. All that definitely can put you in a down state. (Although I’ve been there, I hate saying depression. It makes it sound worse.) It’s nice to hear you have prayer backing you up. Keep at it. I’m sure things will turn around. Wishing you brighter times in 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I appreciate your kind thoughts and words. Depression is what it is and as much as I hate it, I admit that since my bleed I suffer from it. We know there’s no shame in that. I am definitely lucky to have people behind me who pray for me and look out for me. I know things will turn around; I just have to get through this valley. Hugs to you! 🙂 Eva

      Like

  3. spunkonastick says:

    I’m sorry you had so much stress and grief last month. I hope January is nothing but good things.

    Like

  4. And your twinny is not going to let you remain depressed! Keep praying for peace and the strength to get through all of that. You can do it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Teresa C. says:

    That IS a rough start. I believe things will get better. Praying!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for that Teresa! I can always use more prayers. 🙂 I’m still putting one foot in front of the other. They may be slow and awkward, but they’re going. I appreciate the visit and comment so much. Hugs. Eva

      Like

  6. lexacain says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your ER visit and the deaths of Luis’s father and your son-in-law’s step father. With all that trouble going on, you’re all well rid of 2015. I hope the new year brings you improved health and the happiness you deserve. 🙂

    Like

    • I appreciate that, Lexa. I only gave you the closest losses. 😦 There were others, but I had to focus on those the most. I can’t say 2015 was totally rough, except for a stray month here and the last five weeks.

      I’m definitely hoping that 2016 gives me improved health and no more losses! Love you, Lexa! I’ve missed you. Eva

      Like

  7. Deanie Humphrys-Dunne says:

    So sorry Eva. I hope the new year brings much better events for you. You’ve had a lot to overcome,but we’re all here to cheer you up.

    Like

    • I know that, Deanie and that’s why I feel even worse when I’m away from my blogs. Blogging is what helps keep me sane. With the move, the health scare, and the recent losses, I haven’t had the time. Love you Deanie, for being a friend in every sense of the word. Eva

      Like

  8. Oh wow. That’s a tough beginning. I hope you feel much better as the year goes on.

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

    Like

    • Thanks, Stephanie. I appreciate the thoughts and comment. I’m wishing for the same. There are a lot of days left to the new year, so I’m hoping that there’s no where to go but up. Hugs. Eva

      Like

  9. Happy New Year! Here’s looking to a brighter days ahead!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. lgkeltner says:

    We’re glad to have you back! I’m sorry to hear that things have been so rough for you, but hopefully great things await you in the near future!

    Like

Comments are closed.