Redefining Disability Challenge- WHAT I WANT THE PUBLIC TO KNOW

Hello blogger friends and welcome. Here is another post for the

redfng-disblty2Redefining Disability Challenge started by Rose B. Fischer. If you click on the image to the left, you can see exactly what it’s all about and feel free to join. Answer as many of the 52 questions as you like, or the ones that pertain to you. There is no time limit. Answer them in one post, one a day, a week, or whatever fits your needs.

I’m going to spread the questions out over the remainder of the year since a lot of the questions pertain to me already. For today’s post I’m going to answer question(s) 23 .

23. What would you like the general public to know about your disabilities, disability in general, or any other relevant subject?  Above all else, I want the public to know that I no longer consider myself as having a disability. It sounds too permanent and it’s taken me a long time to get out of that mindset.

When people ask me now, I tell them the truth. I suffer residual effects from a sub-arachnoid hemorrhage / hemorrhagic stroke that occurred almost four years ago, and an ischemic stroke that occurred during brain surgery to repair the above.  The occasional seizure activity, my neuropathy, pain, depression, and cognitive deficits, I now call my ‘conditions’.

My doctors say I’m still unable to work at all right now, but I’m going to keep moving ahead. One of my goals is to recover enough cognitively that I will be able to handle meaningful employment on a part-time basis at least, within the next year. Three of my doctors feel it’s a doable goal, one has a let’s wait and see attitude, and I just switched PMDs, so she’s too new to give me her opinion. She can only go by the records she’s received from all my other doctors.

When some people hear the word ‘disability’ or ‘disabled’, they automatically associate it with something negative. My conditions don’t define who I am nor do they define who I want to become.

I should not and do not want to be treated differently because I had a medical incident. Have I been? Of course. I am still a good, loyal, and trustworthy friend. Because of that, I’ve been taken advantage of in the worst ways possible. Never again.

Do I have to work harder than most to accomplish things that most others take for granted? Yes, I do. It’s because of having to work harder that I’ve learned to appreciate the little things so much more now. I’m still me, and that’s a good thing.

Until next time…

 

 

 

About My Miracle Life

I'm a writer, blogger, avid reader, book reviewer, sub-arachnoid hemorrhage and stroke survivor, moving forward in my recovery and trying to advocate for stroke and brain hemorrhage awareness and prevention. I'm also slowly working towards independence, driving, my first novel, a memoir and a series of short stories. I've been lucky to have a very small network of close friends to guide me; I've been even luckier to have found an online 'family' of sorts to help me through the rough times.
This entry was posted in Redefining Disability Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Redefining Disability Challenge- WHAT I WANT THE PUBLIC TO KNOW

  1. Jo Wake says:

    As you have already been told you are a very brave woman and you know you have a lot of cyber support from the Fellowship. Luv you girl.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Deanie Humphrys-Dunne says:

    You’re very brave, Eva and you’ve made lots of progress. Some people don’t have the capacity or wisdom to look past anyone’s disabilities, but I think most can do it. I’m proud of you and so is everyone else who knows you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t consider myself brave. I do what I need to do in order to move forward. When things happen, people tend to be stronger than they ever thought they could possibly be. Love you, my friend. Progress is still coming along. Xoxoxo

      Like

  3. jabrush1213 says:

    You truly are brave Eva!

    Like

  4. T.F.Walsh says:

    I love your honesty and determined approach… Very brave and I’m in awe of your dedication to not let anything stand in your way. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great attitude! Praying that things go your way. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.