IWSG – GETTING THINGS DONE

Hello fellow bloggers and writers extraordinaire. It is the first Wednesday of the month and we know what that means, right? Time for the Insecure Writers Support Group – #IWSG.

Click on the Image to Join

Click on the Image to Join

Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh , my hero, virtually adopted brother, and one of my mentors, founded this amazing and wonderful group.

The group’s purpose allows writers to share their doubts and fears, trials and tribulations without fear of being mocked or feeling foolish. It’s also a place where ‘veteran’ writers can offer wisdom and guidance.

The awesome co-hosts for the July 1 posting of the #IWSG are Charity Bradford, S.A. Larsen, AJ, Tamara Narayan, Allison Gammons, and Tanya Miranda!

Make sure you pay them a visit and thank them for all their work! Being a co-host is a lot of work, but is so much fun! I should know, I’ve done it myself through my other site, lilicasplace. It’s awesome and it feels good when you’re appreciated. 🙂

This month I’m going to write about getting things done. Things have gotten easier over the past four and a half years. My recovery has been slow and steady, but the improvements are there. That matters most. After my bleed, the physical aspect of my recovery was one of the swiftest. I regained the ability to walk and handle certain activities of daily living within a matter of months.

The most challenging aspect was, and still is, cognitive recovery. Memory, focus, and distractibility are issues I still struggle with daily. I can no longer multi-task the way I did in the past. Therefore, time management is key to getting things done for me.

Here’s a list of things that help me account for my time. Everyone has a system that works for them. If you’re like me, maybe some of these ideas will help get you into a steady routine.

  1. Limit your interruptions. If I need to focus on a particular task, I put my phone on silent, and turn off anything that can distract me (like the tv).
  2. Avoid procrastinating. I’ll be the first to admit I’m notorious at procrastination, but I’ve improved 10-fold since I implemented steps 3-6. Procrastination is the worst. Figure how much time you really waste. You’d be surprised. I know I was.
  3. Write to-do lists. I live by this. If I don’t have a to-do list handy, I’m lost. Seriously. I place a little line next to each task that I check off when I’m done.
  4. Set realistic goals. I can put ‘clean the house’ on my to-do list for the day, but I know it won’t happen. I’m not nearly as swift as I once was, and I tire easily. That’s why I do #4.
  5. Manage your goals in chunks. My to-do list on any given day may include washing dishes, cleaning the bathroom, swiffering the floor, taking meds, feeding Sophie and my fish. The next day could be cleaning the kitchen counter, shredding, meds, feeding Sophie and the fish, etc. It’s about doing what you can handle.
  6. Reward yourself for goals met. It’s a great feeling to know you’ve met your goals, finished your to-do list, the story you wrote, etc. Celebrate. I take every other weekend as my celebration time because I know my daughter is coming. I get done what I need to so we can sit back and enjoy each others company. We’ll watch Netflix, order out, and have a mother/daughter weekend.

I hope some of these tips help you as they’ve helped me. Do you have any other time management tips that I could use? I’m all for improving my routine. How does your system work? Do you have trouble getting things done? Until next month…

 

 

 

About My Miracle Life

I'm a writer, blogger, avid reader, book reviewer, sub-arachnoid hemorrhage and stroke survivor, moving forward in my recovery and trying to advocate for stroke and brain hemorrhage awareness and prevention. I'm also slowly working towards independence, driving, my first novel, a memoir and a series of short stories. I've been lucky to have a very small network of close friends to guide me; I've been even luckier to have found an online 'family' of sorts to help me through the rough times.
This entry was posted in IWSG and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to IWSG – GETTING THINGS DONE

  1. Overloading your list is a sure way to feel discouraged every day. Not everyone has clones you know.

    Like

  2. melissamaygrove says:

    I’m a big believer in lists. And simply marking things off is a type of reward.

    Great post! 🙂
    IWSG #123 until Alex culls the list again.

    Like

  3. aandj8804 says:

    I think that list is a great starting point. I don’t know anyone who doesn’t struggle with being easily distracted at one point or another… 🙂

    Like

  4. I like these tips. I need to work on–working more! My bad habit is staying up late watching Netflix, so I’m tempted to nap the next day–major loss of work time. I need to snap out of it. It’s like junk food for the brain.

    Like

    • Thanks Tamara, I appreciate the comment and visit. I’m notorious for Netflix watching too, but I’ve learned to control myself. Lol. Thanks again for co-hosting this month. Eva

      Like

  5. Great ideas, Eva. Thanks for sharing them.

    Like

  6. spunkonastick says:

    I live and die by my to-do list. If I write it down, I know I’ll do it. (If I don’t, I forget – LOL)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Agreed. That’s exactly why I have to do it. It’s been instrumental in helping me make my goals and keeping me from pulling my hair out half the time. 🙂 Thanks for the return visit and comment. Have a great day. Eva

      Like

  7. M.R.R. says:

    #5 is my favorite. A big task doesn’t feel as scary when you break it up into small pieces.

    Like

    • Exactly! When I first became able enough to do things around the house, I’d put things on my list that there was no way I could realistically accomplish, only to find myself angry and upset.

      It’s my favorite too, except maybe for the rewards. 🙂 Only it seems like Sophie benefits from them more than I do! LOL. Hugs.

      Like

  8. I’m happy that you are improving!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I think breaking tasks down into smaller steps is a great idea. Things don’t seem so daunting then. And little rewards, they are good too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. That’s a great list you have. I need to-do lists, too. It’s the only way I accomplish anything. They also help with the procrastination problem. And I completely agree with rewarding yourself. Makes the chores seem not so dreary. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.