Celebrate the Small Things – SPEECH THERAPY

 

Hey everyone! It’s Friday again and time for another posting of Celebrate the Small Things brought to us by LEXA CAINPost anything in life that you’re celebrating, no matter how small or big, on your blog.

Sign up by clicking on the image, hop around and celebrate with others.

Make Celebrate the Small Thingssure your blog post has a link to the sign-up as well, so other bloggers will be able to sign-up and hop around too. 

This is such a simple and easy blog-hop, and it also happens to be one of my favorites.  After posting the things you have to celebrate, please don’t forget to visit and thank Lexa and her awesome and amazing co-hosts for the wonderful job they do:

 

 

LG Keltner @ Writing Off the Edge
Katie @ TheCyborg Mom

This has been a great week for me. Most of my followers know the past few weeks have been rough. I’d been waiting for news regarding Speech Therapy and Medicare. My Rehabilitation doctor deemed the Speech Therapy medically necessary, so Medicare will extend my treatment.

For those who aren’t aware, Speech and Physical Therapies are COMBINED per Medicare regulations. Since I’ve had zero Speech this year, I’m eligible. I had my first evaluation on APRIL 22 with a facility because their specialty is Speech only. After I waited six weeks for that evaluation, I find out that I’m on a standby patient only, meaning I can only get in if someone cancels an appointment. They called me one time and by the time I called back, the slot was filled. My doc wasn’t happy when I went to see him on Monday, JUNE 1.

So here’s what I’m celebrating:

  1. My Rehabilitation doctor referred me to the original outpatient rehab organization I previously went to. It’s a different office, but still closer to my house than the original place he sent me.
  2. He referred me on Monday and I already had my initial evaluation TODAY! Even better? I have the same Speech Therapist I had when I first came out of inpatient rehab. She even remembers me. ** Blushing **
  3. I did a little bit of spring cleaning around the house this past week (mostly paper shredding), but what a difference it made.
  4. Going to see Melissa Etheridge live in concert on the 13th in Mount Pocono. So stoked!

Best of all, I’m still ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE GRASS and blessed with some very special people in my life.

What have you celebrated this week?

 

 

 

About My Miracle Life

I'm a writer, blogger, avid reader, book reviewer, sub-arachnoid hemorrhage and stroke survivor, moving forward in my recovery and trying to advocate for stroke and brain hemorrhage awareness and prevention. I'm also slowly working towards independence, driving, my first novel, a memoir and a series of short stories. I've been lucky to have a very small network of close friends to guide me; I've been even luckier to have found an online 'family' of sorts to help me through the rough times.
This entry was posted in Celebrate the Small Things and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Celebrate the Small Things – SPEECH THERAPY

  1. Deanie Humphrys-Dunne says:

    I’m glad you’re getting speech therapy Eva. Persistence pays off. Hope next week is even better for you.

    Like

  2. Jo Wake says:

    Way to go Eva. I’m so happy this has all happened. Lots of love and hugs.

    Like

  3. jabrush1213 says:

    I have a sister who is studying to be a speech therapist, I can’t wait to show this to her! To know that something like speech therapy is a celebration will be a blessing to her. I hope you have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You tell your sister that survivors like me consider her a Godsend. It is a celebration and a noble career path. I’m the one feeling blessed, because both my STs (inpatient and out) did wonders for me. God bless your sister! Hugs and thanks for the reblog! Eva

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats on starting speech therapy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lexacain says:

    It’s great to hear that your doctor solved your Speech Therapy problems and that you know your therapist! I hope you have a lovely time at the concert! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you my darling Lexa! It’s been a rough couple of months, but I’m glad it’s finally settled. Knowing my ST was the cherry on top. 🙂 I know I’ll have a great time. Thanks for stopping by. Love ya girl! Eva

      Like

  6. M.R.R. says:

    Just having somewhere important a few minutes closer can make things easier. Also great that the house is a little cleaner.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. loricarlson66 says:

    Good luck with the speech therapy and Oh! Melissa! I saw her in the late 90s… she is amazing!

    Like

  8. melissamaygrove says:

    Yay!!! 😀

    Like

  9. Al Diaz says:

    Thank you very much for thinking on me, Eva. I’m honored. Lots and lots of Dragon Hugs!!

    Like

Comments are closed.