Redefining Disability Challenge-BASELINE and CHALLENGES

 

Hello blogger friends and welcome. I’m posting for the redfng-disblty2Redefining Disability Challenge started by Rose B. Fischer. If you click on the image to the left, you can see exactly what it’s all about and feel free to join. Answer as many of the 52 questions as you like, or the ones that pertain to you. There is no time limit. Answer them in one post, one a day, a week, or whatever fits your needs.

I’m going to spread the questions out over the remainder of the year since a lot of the questions pertain to me already. For today’s post I’m just going to answer question(s) 14 and 15.

14.  Describe your baseline, or an average day.  It’s difficult to describe an average day because they vary so often depending on pain levels, whether or not I have physical therapy, etc. For simplicity sake, my average pain level is about five/ten which is not bad considering I’m no longer on narcotic pain meds. I think the physical therapy, prayers, meditation, and my other meds (muscle relaxers and neuropathic pain meds) have helped also. The warmer weather is helping too.

I’m on top of my meds and take them twice daily as ordered. I feed Sophie three times daily. I go to physical therapy twice a week and am pretty wiped out by the time I’m done. I usually have a few doctor appointments each month that I have to make. I’ve gotten to the point where I can make quick and simple meals for myself as long as I remain in the kitchen.

Cleaning is a hassle because I can only do a little at a time before I need a break. I do bits and pieces otherwise it would take me days. I spend some of my time with my online support group and blogger friends. They’ve kept me going through some of my roughest times. I’m hoping to meet more of them very soon.

15.  What are the biggest challenges that you face in regard to disability?  Wow, I have a few. I’m sure I’ve mentioned some of them in previous posts. The biggest challenge in my eyes is my inability to drive. It’s extremely frustrating for me. Luckily I haven’t had any seizures since last summer so I’m hopeful that my neurologist will finally clear me to drive again, so I can practice. It’ll be four years in September since I’ve been behind the wheel of a car. I’m due.

Another challenge I face is getting people to take me seriously and not talk down to me like I’m slow or stupid. I tend to get overwhelmed in stressful situations, but I try letting people know in advance when I call that I sometimes have a speech impairment when I’m upset. I stutter and sometimes I cry. This is especially true when I’m calling about something IMPORTANT. I’ll save the story for an upcoming question that will explain it perfectly.

That’s about all I have for today all. Have a great day!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Redefining Disability Challenge-BASELINE and CHALLENGES

  1. herheadache

    I find it hard to worry about keeping all the dust at bay because I can’t see it. It just doesn’t seem as important. Of course, I don’t live in squaller. I clean when and what I can. You just get a different viewpoint on it in your mind.
    I also hate being talked down to. It’s demeaning.

    Like

    1. My Miracle Life Post author

      Exactly. I don’t live in squalor either. I’m a little messy, but in no way dirty. Big difference. I have friends with no disabilities who have no excuse for living the way they do. Thanks for the visit. I’ll be by as soon as I have a sec. Hugs. Eva

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.