1000 VOICES SPEAK for COMPASSION

I’m posting today about compassion. I heard about this through my dear blogger friend Rebecca Bradley, crime writer and author of Shallow Waters. Take a moment to visit the Facebook page for 1000 Voices Speak for Compassion.

 

compassionlogo

Link your post to the FB page – Tweet with the hash-tag #1000Speak

 

I know a lot of compassionate people; I also know a few who don’t have much compassion at all.

Today is the day 1000 bloggers will post stories about sharing, caring, compassion, empathy, and triumph.

Updated: I just found out about their blog site here. Check it out also.

I always make it a habit to check the news online to see what’s going on in the world around me. I find myself drawn to stories that have happy endings because there’s so much strife and tragedy in the world as it is. Wouldn’t you agree?

Recently, a six-year-old autistic boy named Glenn Buratti from Osceola, Florida had a birthday party planned for him by his mother, Ashlee. She invited all 16 of his classmates from school to come. Even though she didn’t receive any RSVPs, she figured at least a few would come. Not a one did.

In her anger and hurt, she posted her feelings on a Facebook forum and news got around. Let’s just say, little Glenn wound up having the best birthday EVER!

Read about the story here.

Sometimes the smallest things you do for someone make all the difference in the world. You might not even realize it. Even using myself as an example: I appreciate every personal email, tweet or phone call that someone makes asking how I’m doing and feeling. I know that someone, somewhere is thinking of me and I’m not as alone as I sometimes feel I am.

Thanks for reading! Please check out their page to see how you can become more involved. Have a blessed day everyone! Hugs from me to you!

 

 

 

About My Miracle Life

I'm a writer, blogger, avid reader, book reviewer, sub-arachnoid hemorrhage and stroke survivor, moving forward in my recovery and trying to advocate for stroke and brain hemorrhage awareness and prevention. I'm also slowly working towards independence, driving, my first novel, a memoir and a series of short stories. I've been lucky to have a very small network of close friends to guide me; I've been even luckier to have found an online 'family' of sorts to help me through the rough times.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 1000 VOICES SPEAK for COMPASSION

  1. Deanie Humphrys-Dunne says:

    The people who stepped in to brighten that little boy’s day did a great job. The parents and classmates who didn’t come and didn’t have the courtesy to respond should be ashamed. That makes me so sad. But so many fine people came to the rescue, so that’s a very nice happy ending. Thanks for sharing the story, Lily. I love happy endings, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Deanie, so do I. That’s why I don’t really watch the regular news anymore; it gets to be too depressing after a while.

      I already know what’s out there; I like to hear about the good things every once in a while, too. Yes, you’re right, those parents should be ashamed. Thanks for stopping by. Love ya!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. DeeScribes says:

    Readers can also search their social media pages for the #1000Speak tag which many of us have used to tag our posts 🙂 Glad you joined the movement!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. herheadache says:

    I joined #1000Speak just days after it was started. This has been one of the most inspiring months of my life since I started blogging. There is so much to say on the topic of compassion. I am glad to see so many of the blogs I already followed participating today and in recent days. Thanks for sharing a happy story. Dealing with a disability, I don’t know about you, but I must rely on compassion, kindness, and empathy an awful lot in my life. I think and hope this is where I’ve learned how to give it back as well as I have. I guess you could say this is one of the few gifts of living with a disability. Have a great one.
    🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m so happy you’ve been so inspired. Truly. Blogging has been the best resource I’ve come across while I’ve been recovering. Some of the most compassionate, loyal, and inspiring people are the ones I’ve ‘met’ online.

      You can find a wealth of resources and friends to help keep your spirits up when you feel you’re lacking the support system you need. That’s what happened to me.

      You have a great one too! I’ll be visiting shortly to see how you’re doing. Thanks for the visit. Hugs, Eva

      Liked by 1 person

  4. herheadache says:

    Reblogged this on Her Headache and commented:
    Spreading the word for a wonderful cause. Today is World Day For Social Justice. Perfect day to spread some compassion.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow, thank you for sharing this story. If someone takes the time to invite my child I take the time to respond. Common courtesy people. A few weeks back my daughter threw a winter get together, movie and pizza at the house. I held my breath as she is not the popular kid, she has dyslexia and is picked on. Thankfully a few of her guy friends and a couple of girls showed up. It turned out to be a great evening for her. It is a horrid position to be in to watch your kids being hurt by others failures to be at least decent.

    She just told me last night when we were out for dinner that she dislikes gym as when she approaches others to be a part of the group they ignore her, so she goes off and plays by herself. Heart breaking.

    Again thank you for sharing this heart warming story of REAL people coming together and showing that there is still love in the world. 🙂

    Like

    • Hi BritishMumUSA, and thanks for the comment! I’m sorry for being late in my response but I’ve been ill for the last few weeks. The story broke my heart too and I had to share it as well. I’m glad you enjoyed it and I’m happy you came to visit! Have a great day. Eva

      Like

  6. I am glad the ending was a happy one for the boy. It is an inspiring story and I am glad you told me about it or I would have missed it!

    Like

  7. My 50ish year old brother in law has autism. This kind of story breaks my heart. Hurray for everyone who stepped up after the Mom posted on Facebook, to make the day happy for her son. This happens too many times with children who have autism, even in these so-called enlightened times.

    Like

  8. I’m so glad you shared this story of compassion. Just because someone is different does not mean that they are less than you.

    Like

    • Hi Connie! I apologize for the late response; been under the weather recently. I’m glad you enjoyed the story. I definitely needed to be shared. Have a great night and I hope to touch base with you again soon. Eva

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.