Redefining Disability Challenge – Post 5

Hello blogger friends and welcome. Here is another post for the redfng-disblty2Redefining Disability Challenge started by Rose B. Fischer. If you click on the image to the left, you can see exactly what it’s all about and feel free to join. Answer as many of the 52 questions as you like, or the ones that pertain to you. There is no time limit. Answer them in one post, one a day, a week, or whatever fits your needs.

I’m going to spread the questions out over the remainder of the year since a lot of the questions pertain to me already. For today’s post I’m going to answer question(s) nine .

  1. Are your leisure activities or hobbies affected by disability? How do you work around this? My leisure activities and hobbies are definitely affected by my brain hemorrhage/stroke. My favorite things to do have always been cooking, writing, crafting, photography, gardening, driving long distances, and attending concerts/sporting events.

I can’t cook the way I used to because I have a difficult time focusing. I tend to walk away from the stove because I think of something else that needs to be done and forget the food. My left side was always my strong side (being a leftie), so strength is also an issue. I work around it by eating a lot of instant oatmeal, Ensure dietary supplements, cereals, and occasional microwaveable meals. Sometimes I’ll practice cooking a ‘real’ meal if there is someone with me to help, like my daughter, or a friend.

I’m still not cleared to drive, so that’s out the window completely for now. I’m going to talk to my neurologist Dr. H soon to see if she will clear me so I can at least practice drive. I haven’t had a seizure of any kind since July, 2014. Unfortunately, there’s no way of getting around that; I have my neighbor and friend take me to my appointments and run errands. Worst case scenario I can take the disabled bus service with 48 hours notice or cab it.

Real gardening is out for me because of the bending involved. It would be too painful for me. I work around that by having myself a little windowsill herb garden and some green plants at home. I can work on them standing up and a little at a time. As long as I have them, I’m happy. Doesn’t take much. 🙂

The crafting and photography I’m still trying to work on, but it’s difficult because of the tremors I get on my left arm/hand. While my little projects have gotten better, they still need a lot of work. Let’s just say I wouldn’t give them as gifts. Lol. My pictures are definitely getting better.

I haven’t attended any concerts or sporting events since before my illness. I’m looking forward to doing it one day soon, although I know it could be dangerous for me. In crowded places, people tend to bump into each other and I have no way of steadying myself because of my deficits. It’s difficult, almost impossible for me to make a turn if someone bumps into me. I have no way to steady myself. Unfortunately, the way I’ve worked around it, is by avoiding the situation. I went to a fundraiser in October and came very close to face planting because some one decided it was okay to whiz past me (clearly seeing I had difficulty walking). Thank goodness someone next to me helped steady me.

My writing was the first thing I went back to when I was well enough to do so. My once beautiful handwriting is now unsteady. I can only write pen to paper for a few minutes at a time before it becomes illegible. I’m still working on it, though. It will get there. I work around it by using my computer and typing. It’s what has helped me work on some of my cognitive skills. Even though I have to go through my work over and over again, I pay closer attention to details, which helps with my focus, memory, and attention.

That’s all I have for this post. I’ll be answering another question regarding the Redefining Disability Challenge soon. Have a great day everyone!

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Redefining Disability Challenge – Post 5

    1. My Miracle Life Post author

      Honey, I’m far from a hero. But I appreciate you lifting my spirit up the way you do! You’re good for the soul and that’s one of the reasons I heart you so much. Go Seahawks!! Lol…

      Like

    1. My Miracle Life Post author

      Thank you so much for the kind words. As you can see I’m not ready for my exit just yet. 🙂 There are too many things in life that I still want to see and do.

      I appreciate the time you took to read a little bit about me. It took a long time for me to be comfortable enough to start blogging about it. Eva

      Like

Comments are closed.