World Stroke Day – October 29, 2014

Good morning bloggers. Today is Wednesday, October 29 and it is also World Stroke Day. It’s a day to bring attention and awareness to the devastating effects that strokes have on the people they strike. Many are misinformed about who is susceptible to having a stroke. Young people are especially notorious for saying, “Oh, it can’t happen to me; I’m too young.” I’ve got news for you, it can happen to anyone at any age, even newborns and toddlers.

As an Advocate and Activist for You’re the Cure, I do my best to bring attention to the needs of stroke survivors, their caregivers, and families, particularly in Pennsylvania, where I currently reside. Although I am currently uncleared to drive, that will NOT always be the case. World-Stroke For now, I do most of my advocacy work from home. I contact my state lawmakers about proposals of importance like increased funding for therapies for those of us with Medicare. I know I’ve published the F.A.S.T. infographic in previous posts, but I’m going to include it here again. It’s good as a guideline, particularly if the patient is suffering from an ischemic stroke at the time.

I had a sub-arachnoid hemorrhage secondary to a ruptured aneurysm, also known as a hemorrhagic stroke. During my craniotomy, I suffered an ischemic stroke as well, which is a common side effect of that surgery. In a later post, I will explain in further detail the differences between ischemic and hemorrhagic strokes.

For now, please share this post, tweet it,  and pin this infographic to your Pinterest if you have one, so we can reach as many people as possible. Thank you!

 

 

 

 

 

About My Miracle Life

I'm a writer, blogger, avid reader, book reviewer, sub-arachnoid hemorrhage and stroke survivor, moving forward in my recovery and trying to advocate for stroke and brain hemorrhage awareness and prevention. I'm also slowly working towards independence, driving, my first novel, a memoir and a series of short stories. I've been lucky to have a very small network of close friends to guide me; I've been even luckier to have found an online 'family' of sorts to help me through the rough times.
This entry was posted in Stroke and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to World Stroke Day – October 29, 2014

  1. Very good information.
    Tweeting…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Celebrate the Small Things – October 31, 2014 | My Miracle Life

Comments are closed.