#IWSG-Insecure Writers Support Group-STUMBLING BLOCKS

Hey all. It’s Wednesday, August 6, 2014, the first Wednesday of the month. We know what that means, right?

Click on the Image to Join

Click on the Image to Join

It’s meetup time for the Insecure Writers Support Group – #IWSG. Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh founded this amazing and wonderful group.

The purpose of this group is for writers of any kind to share their doubts and fears, trials and tribulations without fear of being mocked or feeling foolish. It’s also a place where writers who have “been there” can offer wisdom and guidance.

Whenever anyone finishes a draft, edits their work, finds the perfect critique group, publishes their work, or has any other good news to share, this is the place to do it too!

Co-hosts for August’s IWSG are Sarah Foster, Joylene Nowell Butler, Lily Eva (my other blog), and Rhonda Albom!

So, I had a stumbling block regarding recovery and I’m not happy. On July 5, I had a seizure while working on the computer and my friends were watching a movie in a dark living room. Not a good combination. I should’ve known better; I wasn’t thinking.

My friends panicked and I was helpless to let them know I would be fine. For those that don’t know me – since surgery, I occasionally suffer from partial seizures. My eyes focus on something, my left arm goes to town, but I’m fully conscious and aware of what’s going on around me. I just can’t speak or respond. They called 911.

I was taken to the ER, given a CT scan, dose of Keppra, but refused to stay. My neuro appointment was three days away. I saw her that Tuesday, she told me my brain MRI & CT scan came back great. This was supposed to be the visit clearing me to drive again, to start weaning me off seizure meds. After ten months seizure free, my stupidity brought me back to square one. How do I say heartbroken?

I was nearly to the point of giving up, but after a few days of tears I decided that giving up was not going to be an option for me. So, as always, I will continue to fight, pay more attention to possible triggers, and get past these next six months, and get behind the damn wheel.

Have you ever had stumbling blocks so big you felt like giving up? How did you overcome them?

 

 

 

About My Miracle Life

I'm a writer, blogger, avid reader, book reviewer, sub-arachnoid hemorrhage and stroke survivor, moving forward in my recovery and trying to advocate for stroke and brain hemorrhage awareness and prevention. I'm also slowly working towards independence, driving, my first novel, a memoir and a series of short stories. I've been lucky to have a very small network of close friends to guide me; I've been even luckier to have found an online 'family' of sorts to help me through the rough times.
This entry was posted in IWSG and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to #IWSG-Insecure Writers Support Group-STUMBLING BLOCKS

  1. oh wow, I’ll stand with you, and believe you’ll have no more! A while back I had a vertigo spell while driving on the highway – thankfully we’d hit heavy traffic and were nearly at a standstill so I was able to pull over before I closed by eyes and waited for the dizzy spin to stop. It wasn’t the first I’d had but it was the first at the wheel. I had several tests but they all came back clear. It stopped me from driving out of fear for quite a while. I still have the odd vertigo spell, but push on and pray it never happens again while I’m on the road. xxx

    Like

    • strokesurvivoreva says:

      Thanks Michelle! I appreciate the kind words. They really mean a lot. šŸ™‚ I’m actually co-hosting this month (well, my alter ego is, anyway). I have two blogs; this one I started a few months ago, so I’m still working out her kinks.

      I’m so glad you passed by. I’ll pass by again later.

      Have a great day. Eva

      Like

  2. It takes great courage not to give up and I’m really glad to see you getting on with the good fight. Keep moving forward and thanks for co-hosting!

    Like

    • strokesurvivoreva says:

      You’re so awesome! I don’t know if I’d call it getting on with the good fight. Just doing the best I can. It wasn’t me co-hosting, it was me alter-ego! šŸ˜€

      Hugs to you always!! So glad you’re here for me. Eva

      Like

  3. Angeline says:

    You’re so brave and inspiring. We all like to think we’d be that determined and optimistic facing such situations, but it’s so easy to throw your hands in the world, claim that you’re a victim, and just give up fighting. Good luck, and I hope you’re driving again soon.

    Like

    • strokesurvivoreva says:

      Thanks Angeline, I appreciate your kind words. They mean a lot. I’m working on it. šŸ™‚ So glad you stopped by. Have a great day. Eva

      Like

Comments are closed.