Celebrate the Small Things-July 13, 2014 (Whoops)

Hey bloggers!  It’s Sunday, July 13, 2014 and I’m late for the weekly meme ‘Celebrate the Small Things’ brought to us by Viklit at Scribblings of an Aspiring Author. I had half the post set, not realizing that so much was going to happen during the week. After ten months seizure free, I suffered a seizure in Connecticut on the 5th. It was a partial and although I knew what was going on around me, I couldn’t respond to the chaos and panic surrounding me. EMS and Paramedics arrived and recommended that I go to the ER for evaluation since my heart rate was close to 150. I did, although I didn’t allow them to admit me because I advised the doctor that I had my neuro appointment in three days time and would discuss everything with her then. In short, I wound up going back to Pennsylvania for a few days and didn’t make it back in time to realize that I had pre-set the publishing date and time for this post. That’s why you only got half a post. I apologize. My bad.

Celebrate the Small ThingsThis blog hop is super easy – just post a celebration, however small or big, in your blog. It doesn’t have to be related to writing. It can be anything happening in your life.

Sign up by clicking on the image to your left, and hop around and celebrate with others.

After posting the things you have to celebrate, please don’t forget to visit and thank Viklit’s awesome and amazing co-hosts for the wonderful job they do:

Diana Wilder
LG Keltner @ Writing Off the Edge
Katie @ TheCyborg Mom
CaffeMaggieato @ mscoffeehouse

Even though I had a rough week medically, which I will outline in another post, let me tell you what I had to celebrate this past week.

  • My Compai Jose took me to The Bronx yesterday to take our friend Leon to see his family, but also had a surprise for me too. He took me to my Comai Julie’s house, where my daughter Mandy, my niece Juliette, and my godson Gabriel were waiting to surprise me. Oh Happy Day!!! Talk about a thrill.
  • We enjoyed White Castle murder burgers which I haven’t had in YEARS!
  • Julie surprised me by making me her famous DELICIOUS Coquito (with alcohol), that I enjoyed, in moderation of course. 🙂
  • My niece Juliette did my hair and makeup so I could feel like a million bucks…which I did. 😀
  • Although I’m back to square one with my driving practice, my neurologist said all my scans came back great. She believes my seizure was probably provoked by the fact that I was in a dark room with my computer on and the fams was watching a movie (flickering lights). I should’ve known better; this was my fault. Live and learn. Planning on never having another seizure again.

What have you celebrated this week?

About My Miracle Life

I'm a writer, blogger, avid reader, book reviewer, sub-arachnoid hemorrhage and stroke survivor, moving forward in my recovery and trying to advocate for stroke and brain hemorrhage awareness and prevention. I'm also slowly working towards independence, driving, my first novel, a memoir and a series of short stories. I've been lucky to have a very small network of close friends to guide me; I've been even luckier to have found an online 'family' of sorts to help me through the rough times.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Celebrate the Small Things-July 13, 2014 (Whoops)

  1. Oh my! Sounds scary! I’m glad that you figured out what brought the seizure on…so you can avoid having another one in the future. Glad that you were able to enjoy some time with loved ones…that sounds like exactly what you needed…a little pick me up! Hugs back at ya!
    ~Katie

    Like

    • strokesurvivoreva says:

      Thanks Katie, My neurologist actually reminded me of what I already knew in the back of my head and completely forgot! Thus my stupidity. 😦 Since I worked in EMS for so many years, I knew all this information already and didn’t think.

      But you’re right about my loved ones though… I don’t know what I’d do without them. I’m so glad you passed by. Xoxoxo. Eva

      Like

  2. lexacain says:

    First, you absolutely owe no apology for the lateness. I’m glad you had a mostly good visit with all your friends, and at least you know what caused the seizure, so you can guard against it in the future. Good luck with your driving practice – I hope you have a good week! 🙂

    Like

    • strokesurvivoreva says:

      Thanks, I appreciate the sweet words. They mean so much right now. It’s just been a rough month overall. It’s so good to know that I have great people like you in my corner all the time. Hugs. Eva

      Like

  3. I’m late. Sorry to hear about the seizure but at least you can guard against it next time. Keep safe and I hope you’ll be seizure free again for years to come. 😀 Great celebrations, though! Don’t you just love rediscovering food you haven’t had for years? Have a great weekend!

    Like

  4. That must’ve been very scary for you and your family when the seizure came on. I’m glad you got to indulge a little on food and drink, though! I found out I have a gluten sensitivity, so I can’t eat or drink those things anymore.

    Like

    • strokesurvivoreva says:

      Thanks Kimberly, it was freaky but I’ve gotten used to it. It’s always everyone else I worry about now. Sorry about your sensitivity, that sucks. Thanks for stopping by! Eva

      Like

Comments are closed.