Coming Clean About My Stroke-Part 2

This is Part 2 of the Coming Clean About My Stroke blog post series from last summer. Four or five more and I’ll be caught up…

lilicasplace

I finally stabilized enough that I was extubated for the last time, the first week of December. I’m in a private NICU room with doctors, nurses, therapists galore, family and my ex. I’m up, but don’t really understand what’s going on.

I remember one of the nurses asked me if there is something I needed, and I remember responding with a voice that was unrecognizable to me, “McDonald’s McNuggets and Sweet Tea”. I was speaking as if I had a small bag of rocks in my mouth. This was moments after being extubated (none of that I remember). They found the request amusing,  but I didn’t. I was hungry.  I was told I wouldn’t be able to eat any hard food until the speech therapist tested my swallow skills. I had just been extubated. I was looking at juice, apple sauce and jello. Whatever.

I remember my attention turning elsewhere. …

View original post 705 more words

About My Miracle Life

I'm a writer, blogger, avid reader, book reviewer, sub-arachnoid hemorrhage and stroke survivor, moving forward in my recovery and trying to advocate for stroke and brain hemorrhage awareness and prevention. I'm also slowly working towards independence, driving, my first novel, a memoir and a series of short stories. I've been lucky to have a very small network of close friends to guide me; I've been even luckier to have found an online 'family' of sorts to help me through the rough times.
This entry was posted in Stroke. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coming Clean About My Stroke-Part 2

  1. Glad you had a visit from your daughter and her friend…that sounds wonderful. I hope my kiddies come to visit me lots once they move out! And I’m happy you found someone to connect through. It’s amazing to me how we can feel close to someone even when communicating over the computer. Have a great week!
    ~Katie

    Like

    • strokesurvivoreva says:

      Hi Katie! It’s been a long, busy week so far. I’m so glad you stopped by though. I apologize that it took me a few to respond to your comment. Hope your week is going by smoother than mine. 😀 Hugs to you!! Eva

      Like

Comments are closed.