IWSG-New Beginnings, New Blog

I know most of my fellow IWSG bloggers will already know me from my other blog, so I won’t begin this with any formal introductions. 🙂 What I should point out, is that the first thing I did after publishing my first post was sign up for the IWSG!

Click on the Image to Join

Even personal journey blogs need love too! Of course I’m aware of how this works. But for those who are just tuning in, or getting to know me and my new site (my baby), the IWSG stands for the Insecure Writers Support Group and ‘meets’ on the first Wednesday of every month. This amazing group was founded by the wonderful Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh, and if you are unfamiliar with him, I urge you to visit his blog post haste.

The IWSG offers writers of all kinds  a safe haven to share their insecurities, thoughts, fears and doubts without worry of ridicule or feeling foolish. I’ve been a loyal member since soon after I started blogging last February. There isn’t a more wonderful group of people you will find. Guaranteed. I’ve come such a long way since joining this group. Not only can you post about your insecurities and doubts, you can also post about your triumphs and successes! It’s not all about the trials and tribulations we go through. We also celebrate each others good fortune!

I mentioned new beginnings in my post title. This blog is new for me. After all the recent losses of people dear to me, I started this one to focus more on my life after my hemorrhage and as a way to advocate for stroke and brain injury awareness, prevention, and education. My other blog will slowly evolve back to what she should’ve been all along — everything writing related.

Before I sign off, I’d like to thank this month’s IWSG co-hosts for doing a magnificent job of taking care of us:

Mark Koopmans                              Joylene Nowell Butler

Elsie Amata                                      Lisa Buie-Collard

I’m off to get some work done! Are you finishing up a project? Starting something new? Remember, I’m living proof that it’s never too late for a new beginning!

Until next month’s meeting!

About My Miracle Life

I'm a writer, blogger, avid reader, book reviewer, sub-arachnoid hemorrhage and stroke survivor, moving forward in my recovery and trying to advocate for stroke and brain hemorrhage awareness and prevention. I'm also slowly working towards independence, driving, my first novel, a memoir and a series of short stories. I've been lucky to have a very small network of close friends to guide me; I've been even luckier to have found an online 'family' of sorts to help me through the rough times.
This entry was posted in IWSG and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to IWSG-New Beginnings, New Blog

  1. elsieamata says:

    I hope I’m commenting on the right post – I’m such a dolt when it comes to WordPress. 😉 I’m super exited to see you here with the IWSG – welcome! I read your previous post and it home with me on several levels. I won’t bore you too many details. (yeah right) Just know my dad suffered from a stroke several years before he died – that man was my rock star and hero. He was awesome! I also have a few invisible diseases myself. I’ve discussed one at length (migraines) on my blog. The other, an auto immune disease, just a bit, and a third, I was just diagnosed with two hours ago. So, yeah, I get the whole, “It’s in your head” crap. I also turned back to my writing when I could no longer work. It’s been so very cathartic. So, while our journeys are very different. I just wanted you to know, I could relate on a very minute level with you. Nice to meet you. I tried to follow you. Hopefully, I did it right! Be well and take care. (rambling done!)

    Like

    • strokesurvivoreva says:

      Hey Elsie! You are so not a dolt! 🙂 And don’t believe any of that “It’s in your head crap”. I’d suffered from migraines since I was 11 years old. I’m going to have to check out that story on your blog. Thanks again for hosting this month’s IWSG. Eva

      Like

  2. A heartfelt post, thank you. I’m somewhat of a new member, and enjoy being here.
    Best of luck with everything.
    Silvia @
    SilviaWrites

    Like

    • strokesurvivoreva says:

      Hi Silvia, thanks for the kind words. I appreciate it. I’m going to take some of my stroke related posts from my other blog and bring them here to their new ‘home’, since I feel this will be a better place for them. We were all new at one time. I’ve been a member of the IWSG since I started blogging last February with my other blog. When I started this one, it was the first thing I did after publishing my first post. You’ll love it. Everyone is amazing. Eva

      Like

  3. Beautiful blog! And a great purpose! I wish you the best. 🙂

    Like

    • strokesurvivoreva says:

      Thanks so much for your kind words. I hope I can accomplish what I set out to with this blog. Have a great day. Eva

      Like

  4. I just joined the IWSG and posted my first post today. I’m so encouraged to hear such positive words about it from you. I don’t know your story, but losing people is always hard and I hope you are doing alright. I look forward to visiting your blog to learn more about your story!

    Like

    • strokesurvivoreva says:

      Hi Genissa, welcome to the IWSG! You’re going to love it. We’ve got an amazing group of people. I know this because I’ve been a member since last year on my other blog. 🙂 I still go through my struggles, but I take it day by day and this blog is going to be my biggest motivator. I’ll be posting a lot about my story here and other things as well. Obviously it’s still in it’s infancy, but I have big plans for this baby. Thank you so much for stopping by. Eva

      Like

  5. Welcoming your new blog to the group!
    Glad you found the group so quickly when you began blogging and have enjoyed it.

    Like

    • strokesurvivoreva says:

      Aww, Ninja Captain — You are commenting on my new blog’s very first IWSG post. Mine eyes welleth up with tears… You so rock!! Eva…aka…Lily-Eva… aka…Lily…aka…Lilica…aka…GAHHH!!! Are we confuddled yet? 🙂

      Like

  6. Fantastic. What a great attitude you have. Keep moving forward.

    Thank you for your support.
    Heather

    Like

    • strokesurvivoreva says:

      Thank you so much Heather for visiting my new blog and for your kind words. They really mean a lot. This blog really means the world to me. Hugs. Eva

      Like

  7. You’re right. This is an awesome group to hang out with!!

    I don’t know how you keep up with two blogs! I barely keep up with one. This one is really pretty!

    Like

    • strokesurvivoreva says:

      Thank you Elizabeth. This one is close to my heart though. I’m so glad that you stopped by though. I should have a little ‘blogwarming’ party. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.