My First Stroke Post at My Miracle Life Blog

Hello there blogosphere! This is my first post in my new blog, My Miracle Life. I broke it down a little in my About me page, so I’m not going to get too crazy here, just a bit more about me for now. 🙂

I dedicated over a decade to helping the sick and injured, until November 2011, I became one of the sick. Standing up from a sitting position, I felt a heat rise from the back of my right foot to the back of my neck and snap like a rubber band. It was the worst pain I had ever felt, yet it only lasted about 30 seconds. Immediately after, I felt nauseated. My ex-girlfriend at the time was also an EMT; she drove me to the local ER. Halfway there, I was semi-conscious, vomiting and seizing. Thankfully, she didn’t waste time pulling over to call 911; she just kept going.
A CT scan revealed a sub-arachnoid hemorrhage in my brain. Since the hospital was local and not trauma equipped, I had to be flown to a Level 1 Trauma Hospital. I had brain surgery the following morning. I also suffered an ischemic stroke during surgery, which is a common side effect of brain surgery. I spent nearly a month in neuro-surgical ICU fighting for my life; my left side was useless, my speech was impaired, and my memory, focus, and concentration were shot. After ICU, I was sent to an inpatient rehabilitation facility where I spent another month, learning how to use my left side, how to speak again, concentrate and focus again.
Writing is what is keeping me going. I am still recovering; my brain is still recovering. A lot of people don’t get that. I can walk now, slowly, but without the assistance of any mobility devices, unless the weather is bad or my pain scale is unbearable. I can talk now, but when I get overwhelmed, which happens quite easily, I stutter and cry. My attention span, focus, and concentration have improved; I still have to work on it constantly.

People look at me and don’t see visible signs of brain injury most of the time. That doesn’t mean it’s not there. I’ve had people I believed cared about me call me unflattering names to my face in order to be hurtful; it’s because they think I’m healed and they believe I can take it. It’s their idea of ‘tough love’.

That’s why I picked up the writing I let go of so long ago. I can’t work now; not yet, anyway. I am still working on getting better. I never give up, ever. I consider myself too lucky to have gone through so much to think anything is beyond my capabilities. All I need is more time. I have plenty of encouragement from family, a very small network of friends who I consider family, and blogging buddies I have been blessed to have come across and been able to share my story with for over a year and a half.

I look forward to meeting more survivors and educating the world on stroke awareness and brain injury. Please feel free to comment and follow.

Don’t forget! May is American Stroke Awareness Month!!

About My Miracle Life

I'm a writer, blogger, avid reader, book reviewer, sub-arachnoid hemorrhage and stroke survivor, moving forward in my recovery and trying to advocate for stroke and brain hemorrhage awareness and prevention. I'm also slowly working towards independence, driving, my first novel, a memoir and a series of short stories. I've been lucky to have a very small network of close friends to guide me; I've been even luckier to have found an online 'family' of sorts to help me through the rough times.
This entry was posted in Stroke and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First Stroke Post at My Miracle Life Blog

  1. R. E. Hunter says:

    Your experience reminds me of another I read a few months ago (sorry, I don’t have a link) of a young woman who had suffered a brain injury, but did not have visible issues, such as partial paralysis. She had the same problem of people not understanding that she still had issues, even though they weren’t obvious. Even in the support group she attended, she had problems.

    It’s good to see that you’re progressing. Your blog posts at least come across very clearly and well written (though I don’t know how difficult it was for you to compose). Keep at it. From what I’ve read, the best thing you can do is keep pushing yourself to do the things you find difficult.

    Like

    • strokesurvivoreva says:

      Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful words R.E.; they mean so much to me. 🙂 My bleed happened back in November of 2011, so I’ve had a lot of rehab since then. My speech and my fine motor skills have improved since (unless I get overwhelmed, then I become anxious and start to stutter badly.) I don’t like that at all. My biggest problems remain the word-finding, focus and memory issues (neurologically speaking). I haven’t lost my intelligence, so to speak. My brain needs to re-route the way it delivers everything now. It takes longer now and sometimes people become impatient with me, because they just assume I’m OK. I hope that makes sense to you. We can talk about the other issues related to my brain injury (psychological and pain related), but we’d be talking for hours I’m sure. 🙂 I’m so glad you stopped by my blog to visit. Have yourself a great day hopefully we will chat soon. Eva

      Like

Comments are closed.